Restricting an article to specific user groups
Here is a quick overview of how viewing permissions work:
- By default articles are viewable to everyone who has access to a site unless you mark the article as "Restricted"
- Permissions are assigned to individual articles
- Permissions are based on reader groups that a user belongs to
- Admins can see all articles
How to edit viewing permissions
- Select the padlock to mark an article as restricted or not.
- If the article is restricted select "Manage permissions" to select the groups that are allowed to view it.
How do viewing permission affect the Table of Contents
Manuals and chapters that don't contain any articles that are viewable to the current user will not appear in the table of contents, even if they are marked published. This prevents empty manuals and chapters from appearing for your users.
Also, if a manual group does not contain any visible manuals it will not be displayed for the user in the table of contents.
Which sites allow article viewing permissions?
- This feature is only available on sites that are marked as private
- This feature is only applies to sites that are hosted on ScreenSteps. It is not available on sites that publish to Zendesk.