You can restrict who can view articles in sites that are public or private. To do this, you must first create viewer groups.
Here is a quick overview of how viewing permissions work:
- By default articles are viewable to everyone who has access to a site unless you mark the article as "Restricted"
- Permissions are assigned to individual articles
- Permissions are based on reader groups that a user belongs to
- Admins can see all articles
The ability to set viewing permissions for articles is available starting with the Small Business Plan. If your account is on an older plan then you will need to upgrade to use this feature.
Click the padlock next to the article's title
- When you click the padlock you will see a menu with options.
- To turn on article permissions select the Turn On Permissions option.
Select the group(s) who can view the article
Turn Off or Manage Permissions
To turn off permissions or modify the permission groups that can see the article, click on the padlock again.
How do viewing permission affect the Table of Contents?
Manuals and chapters that don't contain any articles that are viewable to the current user will not appear in the table of contents, even if they are marked published. This prevents empty manuals and chapters from appearing for your users.
Also, if a manual group does not contain any visible manuals it will not be displayed for the user in the table of contents.
Important: Restricted articles will not be included in Manual PDFs that are generated.