Checking articles in and out
Before you can edit the contents of a ScreenSteps article you must check the article out. This lets everyone on your team know that you are working on the article.
When you check an article out in the desktop software you are checking it out to the specific computer you are working on. You must check the article back in to save the changes back to the server.
- Quick Check In will check in an article without changing the owner, status, or visibility of the article.
- Check in will allow you to change these settings before you check in.
- Cancel Checkout will release the lock on the article and erase any changes you have made since your last checkout.
You can override the lock another user has on an article. But be careful! Overriding a checkout will cause any changes that have not been checked back in to be lost.
Assigning owners and status
In ScreenSteps you can assign each article an owner and a status setting. The purpose of this feature is so that everyone on your team knows what needs to be done and who needs to do it.
The owner and status settings don't control who can edit an article or whether or not the article will be visible. These settings are only for helping you better manage your workflow. You are free to use them however you like or ignore them.
Here is the method we use:
- If an article needs something done to it (new content, updated content, etc.) we assign the appropriate status and assign an owner who is responsible for taking the article to the next stage.
- Once an article is finished we assign a status of "Approved" and set the owner to "None."
Adding revision notes
Revision notes are another optional feature. You can set revision notes and optionally have those notes sent to people on your team. Revision notes only show up for other admins and authors on your account.
Rolling back changes
Each time you check in an article a revision is stored. You can view past revisions and even rollback changes if necessary.
Managing authoring permissions
You can set various authoring permissions for users on your account. Authoring permissions are set on a per site basis. You can read more about authoring permissions here: