ScreenStepsManaging Content Managing and Organizing ContentHow do I share a manual between sites?

How do I share a manual between sites?

Sharing a manual will enable you to share content between sites at the manual level. By following these procedures, you can create content in a manual, share it between sites, and when you make updates to the manual in one site, the changes will be reflected in each site the manual has been shared to.

Select Add Existing Manual from the Manuals action menu

Select Manual > click Add Manual

Select the manual you would like to add from the Manual menu then click Add Manual. The manual will be added to your site.

The manual will have an arrow icon next to signifying that the manual is shared (or referenced) in multiple sites. Editing the manual in one location will edit the manual in every site it appears in.

6 Comments

Michael Arndt

Is there a way to share specific articles between sites?

Trevor DeVore

Yes there is. You do that by adding a reference to an article to a manual in another site. Here is an article that shows how:

http://help.screensteps.com/m/screensteps_live/l/86174-how-to-move-or-copy-articles-between-manuals-or-sites

Michael Arndt

How do I unshare a manual between two sites?

Trevor DeVore

@Michael Just remove it from the site. Here are instructions:

http://help.screensteps.com/m/10207/l/114701-how-do-i-remove-manuals-from-a-site

Gretchen Fulmer

Is there a way to turn off the referencing on a manual? We would like to keep the manuals located in separate sites but do not wish to have them referenced.

Trevor DeVore

@Gretchen - If you remove the manual from the site then it will no longer be shared with the site. Just duplicate the manual before you remove the referenced manual and you will have a new, separate copy of the manual and the articles in it.

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment