Viewing Permissions for Articles
You can restrict who can view articles in sites that are public or private. To do this, you must first create viewer groups.
Here is a quick overview of how viewing permissions work:
- By default articles are viewable to everyone who has access to a site unless you mark the article as "Restricted"
- Permissions are assigned to individual articles
- Permissions are based on reader groups that a user belongs to
- Admins can see all articles
The ability to set viewing permissions for articles is available starting with the Small Business Plan. If your account is on an older plan then you will need to upgrade to use this feature.
Click the padlock next to the article's title
When you click the padlock, the article will not be visible to viewers.
Click Manage permissions
This is how you will determine who can view this article.
Select the group(s) who can view the article
How do viewing permission affect the Table of Contents?
Manuals and chapters that don't contain any articles that are viewable to the current user will not appear in the table of contents, even if they are marked published. This prevents empty manuals and chapters from appearing for your users.
Also, if a manual group does not contain any visible manuals it will not be displayed for the user in the table of contents.
Important: Restricted articles will not be included in Manual PDFs that are generated.