ScreenSteps

How do I get back into my account if I have accidentally locked myself out?

Updated Jun 08, 2021

Sometimes when setting up Single Sign-on you may accidentally lock yourself out of your account. Don't worry, it happens to the best of us.

If you are an admin on an account then you can request that an email be sent to you with a link that will log you in one time. This allows you to access your ScreenSteps account again and make any needed Single Sign-on configuration changes. 

To request this email, you will visit the /login/sso_bypass url for your account. For example, if your account name is myaccount then you would visit the following url:

https://myaccount.screenstepslive.com/login/sso_bypass

Log in with a ScreenSteps user account

If your account has the Allow Single Sign-on bypass for ScreenSteps user accounts setting turned on then users can also log in via the /login/normal url for your account. 

This setting can be toggled by an administrator on the Account > Settings page.

This url will ask you for a username and password that exist in the ScreenSteps system, not in your Single Sign-on identify provider. For example, if your account name is myaccount then you would visit the following url:

https://myaccount.screenstepslive.com/login/normal

Enabling Allow Single Sign-on bypass for ScreenSteps user accounts for an account is less secure and is not recommended. Accounts created before February 26, 2021 have the setting enabled by default. All accounts created on or after February 26, 2021 have the setting turned off by default.

0 Comments

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Previous Article Setting Up Your Application to Use ScreenSteps Remote Authentication (Not SAML)
Next Article What is required if I want to add Single Sign-on to my application?
Still Need Help? Contact Us