User groups allow you to apply authoring permissions to several users at once. This makes it much easier to maintain the authoring permissions of a large group of authors.
Example: You are using ScreenSteps to support several departments and you want to invite contributors; however, you only want those users to be able to edit content that belongs to their department.
You could create a User Group for Department A, modify the group permissions, and then assign contributors from Department A to that group. They will only be able to modify articles, chapters, or manuals that their group has permission to edit.
You could then create a User Group for Department B, modify the group permissions, and then assign contributors from Department B to that group.
If an employee needed to modify articles from both groups, you could assign them to both groups and she would inherit editing permissions from both groups.
Setting up groups with Admin permissions
When you create a new group, it does not have any permissions associated with it. You will need to add permissions for accessing the Admin area.
- Click the title of the group you would like to add permissions to.
- Click Add Site.
When you create a group, it is not associated with any sites. You will need to select a site first and then you can modify the permissions that the group has for the site.
- Check the site you would like the group to be able to view.
- Choose the viewing permissions (this applies to the published site and affects Readers and Contributorswho belong to this group)
- Assigned Content Only: This group can ONLY see articles, chapters, or manuals that they have been explicitly assigned in the published site. Nothing else. For example, if you hire contractors and you only want them to be able to see the the Contractor Manual, you will not need to lock down all the other manuals/chapters/articles in your site. Users in this group can only see what they have been assigned.
- Unrestricted & Assigned Content: This group can see all manuals/chapters/articles in the published site that have not been restricted AND you can assign them to manuals/chapters/articles that are restricted.
- All Content: Members of this group can see all content in the published site whether it's been restricted or not.
- Check this box if you want this group to have access to Courses and/or the Browser Extension.
Admin Accessrefers to whether the Contributors who are part of this group can view content in the Admin area (Readers in this group will not be able to view the Admin area regardless of what this setting is).
- No Access: Contributors do not have acces to the Admin area of this site.
- Limited Access: Contributors can only modify content (e.g. articles/chapters/manuals) they have been explicitly added to.
- Full Access: Contributors can view and modify all content in the Admin area. No further restrictions can be made.
- Click Next.
If you choose Limited Access, then you can further refine the rules for Contributors in this group:
Viewable Content: the content Contributors can see in the Admin area.
- No Content: Contributors can not see any content in the Admin area.
- Assigned Only: Contributors can only see articles/chapters/manuals in the Admin area that they have been assigned. You must assign the article/chapter/manual to this group.
- All Content: Contributors can see all articles/chapters/manuals in the Admin area.
If you select All Content, that means Contributors can view all content in the Admin area. If that's the case, you can further refine the rules for Authoring Permissions:
- No Access: Contributors cannot modify any content.
- Review Only: Contributors can only review content in the Admin area.
- Contribute But Not Publish: Contributors can edit articles but cannot publish or modify chapters/manuals.
- Manage and Publish: Contributors can manage and publish articles/chapters/manuals
You can also refine permissions around responding to public comments.
In the next screen, you can include Admin Modules:
- Manage Site Template: Modify the appearance of the published site.
- Manage Courses: Create, update, and modify courses.
- Manage Channels: Create, update, and modify channels for contextual help.
- View Reports: View reports such as article views, user views, search queries, etc.
You can also manage the access to Uncategorized Articles.
When you are done, click Add to save your selections.
Assigned Only means that Contributors can only view content in the Admin area that are explicitly assigned to this group from the article/chapter/manual.
You cannot modify Authoring Permissions or Public Comments at the group level. You will assign authoring permissions when you add this group to a manual/chapter/article.
In the next screen, you can only add one Admin Module. You can modify permissions to manage Uncategorized Articles.
Click Add to save your changes.
Your next step would be to add users to this group. Any user assigned to this group would inherit the permissions assigned to this group.
Once you have established the group permission rules, you can assign articles/chapters/manuals to that group.