You can apply viewing permissions to individual users.
- Navigate to Users.
- Click the user you want to modify.
Note: We recommend managing viewing permissions at the group level when possible and that you only manage viewing permissions at the individual user level for one-off situations.
You can add more permissions to an individual user, even if they belong to a User Group.
Setting up individual users with authoring permissions
- Navigate to Site Permissions
- Click Add Site.
When you create a user, they are not associated with any sites. You will need to select a site first and then you can modify the permissions that the group has for the site.
- Check the site you would like the user to be able to view.
- Choose the viewing permissions (this applies to the published site
- Assigned Content Only: This user can ONLY see articles, chapters, or manuals that they have been explicitly assigned in the published site. Nothing else. For example, if you hire contractors and you only want them to be able to see the the Contractor Manual, you will not need to lock down all the other manuals/chapters/articles in your site. This user can only see what they have been assigned.
- Unrestricted & Assigned Content: This user can see all manuals/chapters/articles in the published site that have not been restricted AND you can assign them to manuals/chapters/articles that are restricted.
- All Content: The user can see all content in the published site whether it's been restricted or not.
- Check this box if you want this group to have access to Courses and/or the Chrome extension.
Admin Access refers to whether the Contributors who are part of this group can view content in the Admin area (Readers in this group will not be able to view the Admin area regardless of what this setting is).
- No Access: Contributors do not have acces to the Admin area of this site.
- Limited Access: Contributors can only modify content (e.g. articles/chapters/manuals) they have been explicitly added to.
- Full Access: Contributors can view and modify all content in the Admin area. No further restrictions can be made.
- Click Next.
If you choose Limited Access, then you can further refine the rules for this Contributor.
Admin Viewing Permissions: the content Contributors can see in the Admin area.
- No Content: Contributors can not see any content in the Admin area.
- Assigned Only: Contributors can only see articles/chapters/manuals in the Admin area that they have been assigned. You must assign the article/chapter/manual to this group.
- All Content: Contributors can see all articles/chapters/manuals in the Admin area.
If you select All Content, that means this contributor can view all content in the Admin area. If that's the case, you can further refine the rules for Authoring Permissions:
- No Access: Contributors cannot modify any content.
- Review Only: Contributors can only review content in the Admin area.
- Contribute But Not Publish: Contributors can edit articles but cannot publish or modify chapters/manuals.
- Manage and Publish: Contributors can manage and publish articles/chapters/manuals
You can also refine permissions around responding to public comments.
In the next screen, you can include Admin Modules:
- Manage Site Template: Modify the appearance of the published site.
- Manage Courses: Create, update, and modify courses.
- Manage Channels: Create, update, and modify channels for contextual help.
- View Reports: View reports such as article views, user views, search queries, etc.
You can also manage the access to Uncategorized Articles.
When you are done, click Add to save your selections.
Assigned Only means that this contributor can only view content in the Admin area that are explicitly assigned to this group from the article/chapter/manual.
You cannot modify Authoring Permissions or Public Comments at the group level. You will assign authoring permissions when you add this group to a manual/chapter/article.
In the next screen, you can only add one Admin Module. You can modify permissions to manage Uncategorized Articles.
Click Add to save your changes.
Once you have established the group permission rules, or the rules for an individual user, you can assign articles/chapters/manuals to that user.