ScreenSteps

Creating Viewer Permission Rules for a Group

Updated Dec 16, 2020

User groups allow you to apply viewing permissions to several users at once. This makes it much easier to maintain large numbers of user permissions.

Example: You are using ScreenSteps to support several departments. You could create a User Group for Department A, modify the group permissions, and then assign all employees from Department A to that group. They will only see articles, chapters, or manuals that apply to their role.

You could then create a User Group for Department B, modify the group permissions, and then assign all employees from Department B to that group.

If an employee needed to see articles from both groups, you could assign them to both groups and she would inherit viewing permissions from both groups.

ScreenSteps

Setting up groups with viewing permissions

When you create a new group, it does not have any permissions associated with it. You will need to add viewing permissions.

  1. Click the title of the group you would like to add permissions to.
  1. Click Add Site.

When you create a group, it is not associated with any sites. You will need to select a site first and then you can modify the permissions that the group has for the site.

ScreenSteps
  1. Check the site you would like the group to be able to view.
  2. Choose the viewing permissions
    • Assigned Content Only: This group can ONLY see articles, chapters, or manuals that they have been explicitly assigned in the published site. Nothing else. For example, if you hire contractors and you only want them to be able to see the the Contractor Manual, you will not need to lock down all the other manuals/chapters/articles in your site. Users in this group can only see what they have been assigned.
    • Unrestricted & Assigned Content: This group can see all manuals/chapters/articles in the published site that have not been restricted AND you can assign them to manuals/chapters/articles that are restricted.
    • All Content: Members of this group can see all content in the published site whether it's been restricted or not.
  3. Check this box if you want this group to have access to Courses and/or the Chrome extension.
  4. Admin Access refers to whether the Contributors who are part of this group can view content in the Admin area (Readers in this group will not be able to view the Admin area regardless of what this setting is).  Details around permissions for the Admin area can be found [here].
  5. Click Next.

This segment is for refining Viewing, Authoring, and Comment Moderator Permissions in the Admin Portal. This would only apply to Contributors who are part of the group.

Since this group is only focused on refining the Viewing Permissions of the published site, and "No Access" was selected for the Admin Access in the previous screen, this segment is not applicable.

Click Next.

This segment is for identifying additional Admin Portal permissions for contributors. Since this group is only focused on Viewing Permissions of the published site, and "No Access" was selected for the Admin Access in the previous screen, this segment is not applicable.

Click Add.

This group now has permission to View only those manuals/chapters/articles in the published site that are explicitly assigned to it.

Your next step would be to add users to this group. Any user assigned to this group would inherit the viewing permissions assigned to this group.

Once you have assigned permission rules to user groups, you can apply viewing permissions at the manual, chapter, or article level.

0 Comment

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment
Previous Article Overview of User Permissions
Next Article Creating Viewer Permission Rules for an Individual User
Still Need Help? Contact Us