Move content from one ScreenSteps account to another ScreenSteps account

Updated Apr 22, 2020

Administrators can move content from one ScreenSteps account to another ScreenSteps account using the Copy Requests feature.

Note: Your account must have Copy Requests enabled by the ScreenSteps team. If you would like to have Copy Requests enabled, contact support@screensteps.com.

Questions to review before you get started

Confirm both accounts have been set up for Copy Requests

You can see whether your account has been set up for Copy Requests by following these instructions.

Both accounts (the account sending content and the account receiving content) must have Copy Requests enabled.

Contact ScreenSteps support

If Copy Requests is not enabled on your account, contact support@screensteps.com and ask that it be enabled. Once it is enabled, you may continue.

Do you want to send or receive content?

Follow these instructions

Select Copy Requests
Create Copy Request
Select Item to Copy
Send request
Type in Account Name > Create Request

Follow these instructions

Note: The account sending content must have already sent over the request to move content to your account. If the other account has not sent you content, then there will be nothing to import.

Select Copy Requests
Click Import Requests
Accept Request

Click on the Accept button to accept the request. Depending on what type of content is being imported you will be given the option or organize the content. For example, if you are importing an article you can select the manual and chapter to place it in.

When you accept a copy request for a site or a manual, ScreenSteps will update internal knowledge base links for you. What this means is that any links between articles or chapters within the site or manual will be updated to point to the new articles, chapters, and manuals in the new copy.

Important: If you are accepting a copy request for a manual then knowledge base links that point to articles, chapters, or manuals outside of the manual will not be updated.

All content that you import will be Unpublished.

Congratulations, you are done!

0 Comment

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment
Previous Article Is my account set up for Copy Requests?

Still Need Help?

Contact Us