ScreenSteps lets you add notes to articles and notify other authors when changes need to be made. You can work with revision notes in the web article editor or the desktop article editor.
The desktop editor displays revision notes in the property inspector on the right of the article editor. Revision notes associated with the article as a whole as well as those linked to a specific content block will appear here.
If you click on a revision note that is linked to a content block then the content block will scroll into view and the revision note icon next to the content block action menu will appear in a darker color.
In addition, if you click on the revision note icon next to the content block action menu it will highlight the revision note and scroll it into view.
Now that you know how to access revision notes in the desktop and web editor we will review the basics of using revision notes. The screenshots in these instructions come from the desktop software. The ability to add a note, reply to a note, mention people, etc. are present in both applications though.
You can add a note to an article, add a note to a specific content block, or reply to an existing note.
- To add a new note associated with the article as a whole click on the Add article note button at the bottom of the revision notes inspector.
- To add a note linked to a specific content block select Add Revision Note from the content block action menu.
- To reply to an existing note click on the Reply button below the note.
If you mention someone in your note then they will be sent an email with the note contents. Just type the @ character and a list of authors that have access to the article will appear.
The name of the person you select will appear in your note.
When you reply to an existing note your message will appear connected to the note above it. There is only one level of replies. Revision notes do not support nested replies.
Be aware that deleting the parent note will delete all of the replies.
When a revision note has been resolved you can mark the note as resolved. To do so, click on Resolve.
If you Resolve a revision note that has replies then all of the replies will be marked as resolved as well.
If you are currently filtering revision notes by Unresolved notes then the revision note will disappear after a moment. If you are filtering by All notes or Resolved note then the word Resolved will appear where Resolve used to be. Tip: You can unresolve the note by clicking on Resolve.